End of Year Musings

I would have never guessed that I would have such a difficult ending to a year for the second year in a row.  In the space of 13 months, I lost two very dear people.  Half my immediate family, gone so quickly and unexpectedly.  So I have learned some very important lessons.

Never take your loved ones for granted.  Tell them you love them.  It really is such an easy thing to say, and there’s not a person alive who doesn’t like to hear those words.  When you get angry, don’t let it fester.  Forgive.  Let things go.  In the grand scope of things, is that $50 someone never paid back, or the party you weren’t invited to really that big a deal?  Cherish every moment with your family and friends (even the ones where they drive you mad!), because you never know when your time with them will be over.

And when that time is over, it’s so much easier to carry on when you are left with memories that can make you smile, than it is when you have guilt and regret over things that were said and done.  I’m so very grateful that the last words I said to both of those I lost were “I love you”.  I can’t imagine how hard this would have been if my last memories of them were hurtful and angry.

So I say farewell to the old year, and welcome in the new, and I look forward to sharing many more happy/crazy/frustrating moments with all the people in my life.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 13:36:15

    Happy New Year! So sorry to hear about your losses this past year. I wish you all the best in 2014.

    Reply

  2. MysteryKnitter
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 18:05:31

    This must have been a hard year for you. I hope your future is brighter. And yes, you are right. You never know, when a loved one’s time will come. I still miss my maternal grandma, even she went soon fifteen years ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

