Winter Fairy Completed!

And you never even knew I’d started her!  😀

  

My other recent project was organization of my fabric stash.  Until recently, it was stored in plastic tubs under my bed.  No fun for ogling! So instead, I picked up some packs of acid-free comic book backing boards which I wrapped each fabric piece around, then arranged by color on a handy bookshelf.  In doing so, I realized I have no red pieces in my stash…the horror!  😉  But this is so much more fun to look at than the stacks in the tubs.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 13:36:13

    Your winter fairy is so beautiful! I just love all the gorgeous colors in her. I hope to do her sometime this year. I love, love how you have all of your luscious fabrics displayed! What a neat idea. I just may have to do that as mine are right where yours were…under the bed in a big storage box.

    Reply

  2. unicornwiz
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 20:54:58

    She is so pretty and such pretty fabric as well!

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 17:16:44

    A. Winter Faerie is FABULOUS!!! Did you make any changes, or is she as charted? Fabric choice=Perfection.

    Your fabric display is delectable! What a great idea. Where did you get the comic book boards?

    Reply

    • Stephanie
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 19:52:18

      She is stitched as charted, except I changed the backstitching on wings to metallic instead of DMC.
      I got the comic book boards from Amazon, they were about $12 for a pack of 100.

      Reply

  4. Lynn Bourke
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 14:14:37

    A beautiful finish, and I love your storage idea! I have an old CD storage cupboard that could be used for the same purpose… 🙂

    Reply

  5. Salaneuloja
    May 21, 2013 @ 16:47:02

    Nice fabric storage! Nice stitched project.

    Reply

  6. annie toy
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 11:23:55

    Your Winter Fairy is beautiful! Is this pattern out of print? Or can I still purchase it? thanks! annie =)

    Reply

    • Stephanie
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 21:08:19

      The pattern was in the January 2013 issue of Cross Stitch & Needlework. Best bet would be to contact Herrschners and see if they have any back issues available. Even if they don’t have the magazine, I believe they will sell individual charts from issues for a fairly low price. I know some gals who have picked up the older Halloween Fairy chart from them like that.

      Reply

  7. MysteryKnitter
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 17:54:43

    I have always said you are able to stitch. But you are able to organize too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

