Happy accident!

I just dyed the most stunning piece of fabric, and I did it completely by accident.

I wanted a deep blue sparkly fabric, so I took a cut of opalescent lugana and my two darkest blue dyes, and went to work.  The result was less than stunning…a plain, dark periwinkle sort of blue.  It bored me.

Not being one to waste, I decided to overdye it with a dark purple.  Can’t go wrong with a sparkly purple fabric, right?  Well, after letting it sit in the dye overnight, then rinsing (and rinsing…and rinsing) to get the excess dye out, I was left with a plain, medium purple fabric.  Not nearly as dark as I had hoped.

After thinking about it a bit, I realized I didn’t add any salt to my dye, so I figured what the heck.  Let’s put it in another purple dye bath, this time with the salt.  So I mixed more dye, added salt, and dumped the fabric in overnight once more.

Again, it took much rinsing to get the excess dye out, but what I was left with was this:

I love it with a passion.  So, a series of ‘oops’ resulted in one of the prettiest fabrics in my stash.  How’s that for trial and error?  😀

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andie
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 16:32:58

    Wow!! You should try it with other colours 😀

    Reply

  2. Christine E. Walley
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 20:06:28

    Beautiful! What brand dye do you use?

    Reply

  3. MysteryKnitter
    May 24, 2012 @ 17:26:38

    How beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

