Sometimes, I could kick myself…

I really need to learn to count better, I guess.  I started to stitch in the lighter brown on the trunk of the Tree of Hope design when I realized something.  About an inch up the trunk, I had stitched one too many crosses in a column of the dark brown.  Now of course, since I actually started the design in the center and worked my way down, and then branched out (forgive the pun) from there, everything else I had already stitched was aligned with the bottom part of the trunk.  So what I ended up having to do was tear out the stitches that were above the ‘oops’, which was probably 2 hours of work.  Sigh.

And of course the most annoying part is that the thread I pulled out was dark brown, and left little dark brown fibers all in the spots where there were stitches.  At least they will end up getting covered when I stitch in the rest of the trunk.

Not to mention that while I was stitching the fence motif behind the trunk, I realized I’d stitched a couple spots with the light brown that were supposed to have been left empty to contain parts of the fence.  It was 2 stitches, so I didn’t even bother to correct it.  I just consider it a creative interpretation of the pattern.  😀

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine E. Walley
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 15:39:08

    The projects are looking good, Steph! I have been missing you on FB. Can I post these updates on my cross stitch page to keep everyone up to date? You do such awesome work. I am almost finished with my lighthouse (for a gift) and then I want to work more on my summer fairy. Please keep in touch.

    Reply

    • Stephanie
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 21:21:29

      Sure, feel free to repost all you like. 🙂
      I don’t really game on FB any more, so my gaming account is pretty much inactive. I can send you a friend request from my personal account, though, I post there fairly frequently.

      Reply

  2. Christine E. Walley
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 16:46:46

    I woul love that but here is my personal account. I would rather add your personal account to my personal account.
    (link removed)

    Reply

  3. Christine E. Walley
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 20:53:04

    Thanks, I didn’t even think about it. 😛

    Reply

  4. MysteryKnitter
    May 24, 2012 @ 16:43:58

    I understand you. Why? Because I make such mistakes all the time with my stitching.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

