Tree of Hope WIP

Had to take a break from the Letter K as one of the color threads was backordered and I am still waiting on it to arrive.  In the meantime, I dug this pattern out of my stash.  It is the Châtelaine Tree of Hope limited edition design.

I think the Châtelaine mandela patterns are so beautiful, but most use a ton of silk thread, which can be pricey.  I thought I would try this one out because it only has 2 colors of the silk thread, plus it is considerably smaller than many of the other designs.  I do like the Water Garden and last year’s Mystery pattern which was the Peacock Mandela, but I really didn’t want to put another huge design on my ‘to stitch’ list.  This one I will just work on in between the larger projects this year.

I am stitching on 32 count opalescent Lugana that I dyed in a very subtle blue/lavender combination.

I do think the gold beads are just a tad too big for how closely spaced they are on the fabric, so I will probably pull these out and replace them with a slightly smaller bead in the same color.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kahlan
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 02:30:55

    I like the fabric.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 10:19:31

    Thanks! It’s strange, but the opalescent fabrics I find a bit tougher to work on; it seems the weave is tighter, so it can be a little harder to count the threads and make sure I am stitching over the right number.

    Reply

  3. MysteryKnitter
    May 24, 2012 @ 16:36:24

    You stitch the way you want to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

