On pins and needles

I must confess, I have a very bad habit when I stitch. When switching needles or getting ready to re-thread them, I have a tendency to put the needle in my mouth to hold. I do the same with pins.

Yes, I know. One of these days, I’m going to end up swallowing one. Don’t worry, I have the number for 9-1-1 memorized.

Slightly less dangerously, when I don’t put the needles in my mouth, I will stick them in the arm of my sewing chair ‘just for a minute’.

Sometimes I forget them until I poke myself. At least once, I managed to actually push the needle all the way into the padding of the arm, so there’s a stealthy ninja needle in there that I’m sure will someday manage to work itself into an optimal position to viciously attack my tender flesh.

Again, I will also ‘store’ pins in the same manner.  On the plus side, they don’t get lost in the arm because of that nifty little knob on the end.  But on the down side, kitty finds that little knob on the cushions absolutely irresistible, and will pull the pins out with her teeth and carry them off, presumably for consumption in some ritualistic manner due to the shocking lack of steel in her diet.  Fortunately, I’ve always managed to rescue the poor things before they met their bitter end.

But the absolute worst thing that I manage to do with my needles is drop them.  That doesn’t sound too bad, right?  Oh no, see, I can make a mountain out of a molehill in a heartbeat.  Because a good 75% of the time, I can’t find the needles I’ve dropped!

Well, that’s not completely true.  I often do find these needles.  Days later.  With my feet.  In fact, it just happened again not long ago.  My toe is now healed, but the needle shall never stitch again.

I win, needle.  I win.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lucinda Lynx
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 17:49:30

    I love your humor! I have a bad habit of losing needles too, when I prepare to re-thread them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

