Hello!

I have recently been drawn once more to my first crafting passion, that of cross stitch.  I thought it would be nice to document my progress on various projects, and share some of the things I’ve picked up over the years.  I can only hope that this blog in some way inspires others to learn or return to this wonderful craft.

So, a little about me.  I first learned to stitch many, many moons ago, when I was about 11 or 12.  The first things I ever stitched were stamped patterns.  I soon discovered that I much preferred counted cross stitch to over stamped patterns, and subsequently abandoned an in-progress set of quilt blocks with only 5 out of 24 completed.  🙂

In my teens, when I didn’t have to work for a living, I had a lot more time to stitch.  I completed many designs as gifts for friends and family.  Unfortunately, once I entered the ranks of full-time workers, I had less and less time to stitch.  Then I got distracted by crochet for a few years.  Finally, last year, I pulled out a long unfinished WIP and decided to get it completed.

Over the next month, I rediscovered how much I enjoyed cross stitch, and began to search for more patterns I could work on.  I was so pleased to discover some excellent designers of fantasy patterns (my preferred genre) such as Joan Elliott and Passione Ricamo.  So now I have about 56 patterns that I want to stitch all right now! 😀

More realistically, I settled on Joan’s seasonal fairies to complete this year, with a couple additional projects added in as gifts for Mother’s Day and an upcoming wedding.  (Shh, don’t tell!)  I’m feeling very ambitious.

So here we are.  Welcome to my blog, and I hope you enjoy my stitching as much as I do.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lucinda Lynx
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 17:44:48

    Nice site you have here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

